Sunday Afternoon Game Drive

While I have explored Nairobi National Park on numerous occasions since I first ventured through the gates in August last year, this past Sunday, May 24th was the first time I had ever seen a lion within the park’s boundaries. Yes I’ve seen lionesses, but never the majestic King himself. With my residence being in close proximity to the park, I have heard the lions roar on more than one night, usually followed by a hyena’s distinct cackle, but this afternoon was a milestone for me. Finally I don’t have to have sighting envy (wishing you were behind the camera that was used to take the photos’ posted on FB).

King of the Pride

It’s normal to ask the rangers at the entrance of any key sightings, as you log your vehicle in at their register, and this time they mentioned marker 11. Great, I thought, as I buckled up and started down the heavily wooded slope that suddenly opens up onto a vast savannah – breathtaking. That is until I consulted the map I had handily placed on the passenger seat. Marker 11 was at the other end of the park, where I had never ventured.

One thing I’ve learned is that its okay to stop and ask your fellow travelers as you explore your surroundings. I seemed to be following the same route as a pale blue tour van, whose passengers were eagerly gazing around through the raised roof of the van. Sometimes they were ahead of me, and sometimes trailing somewhere in my rearview mirror.

On one such meeting, I stopped and asked the guide in the driver’s seat where he was headed and he responded in Swahili, that he was headed towards Hippo point, in search of “Simba”. He hadn’t shared this with his passengers, as he didn’t want to get their hopes up in vain. Considering that it was by observing his group that I was able to see a black rhino in the distance, I decided that he was a reliable guide. So I informed him that I was on a similar hunt, and we agreed to keep an eye out for each other. After all, many eyes increase the chances of spotting a second member of the big 5.

It was a long drive, and required many stops along the way to talk to drivers coming from the opposite direction, but with the guidance of some KWS soldiers, we finally found our “prey” resting, almost in the shadow of Athi River town.

Along the way, I came round a corner and found this small herd of impala casually ambling across the road. With the puddle in the road, it made for some reflection shots – a perfect combination of location and timing. Reflections x3

With my eyes scanning left and right, windows fully down so I could enjoy the breeze, as weel as take in the sounds outside, I spotted some birds sitting on a short thorny bush. Closer inspection revealed that it was a pair of Little Bee-eaters. Bee-eaters usually dart around, on a mission to catch little insects, and it makes it quite difficult to get any photographs, so on this trip I was really excited to have multiple opportunities to sit and watch them.

Little Bee-eaters on the lookout for a snack.
Little Bee-eaters on the lookout for a snack.

I spotted the second pair towards the end of my drive, as I was making every effort to avoid the muddy roads, thereby taking the long way back to the main gates.

Little Bee eater 2

A drive in the park is never complete for me unless I make a stop at the Hyena Dam which typically has a great assortment of water birds. On this occasion the birdlife was minimal and I only spotted a pair of Blacksmith Plovers, and a few shy Black Crakes. The dam was extremely full due to all the rain we have had this month, and the dam spilled over into the surrounding streams. As I scanned my surroundings, I heard the hippos calling out in their throaty basses, though they remained at the far end of the dam. All I saw was an occasional set of ears as they briefly surfaced.

And then, in the evening light, I had a rare sighting of a male Bohor Reedbuck. It was the first time I had seen one, and while really shy, it happened to be perfectly placed for the golden light of sunset to wash across it for a moment.

Bohor Reedbuck, male
Bohor Reedbuck, male

But the setting sun was not done and as if making an encore curtain call, transformed my surroundings into some breathtaking views – a true display of glory. Evening Light

It was definitely a satisfying 4 hours and 75 kms in the park on a Sunday afternoon, all within 10 minutes of Kenya’s capital city, Nairobi.  It is definitely worth a trip.

Leave a comment